Editorial board disclosure policy

Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism Case Reports Disclosure Policy

(last updated September 2015)
All editors responsible for recommending or making publication decisions are requested to disclose on an annual basis any potential conflict of interest, including current or recent financial relationships with any commercial entity whose products or services may be contained in the journal content.
The following competing interests were disclosed:
Wouter de Herder – has received speakers fees from Ipsen and Novartis and has research sponsored by Ipsen.
Ashley Grossman – has received lecture fees and acted on the advisory boards for Ipsen, HRA Pharma, Viropharma (now Shire Pharmaceuticals) and Novartis.
Jennifer Green – has received research grants paid to her institution from Merck, AstraZeneca, and Glaxo SmithKline. Has received consultancy fees from Merck, Daiichi, and Boehringer Ingelheim.
Eystein Husebye – received a lecture fee from Shire in 2015.
Warrick Inder – Professor Inder is currently a member of an advisory board for Pfizer and have been since the start of 2016. Pfizer has a drug for acromegaly known as Pegvisomant which is widely used in Europe and the USA. He has been on the advisory board during the application and implementation of the drug’s approval for funded use in Australia.
Sofia Llahana - is a Chair of the European Society of Endocrinology (ESE) Nurses Working Group, member of the ESE Executive and Clinical Committees and a member of the Society for Endocrinology Nurse Committee. She received consultancy and speaker fees from MerckSerono, Novartis, Sandoz and Shire Pharmaceuticals.
Jean Claude Mbanya – Prof. Mbanya is a member of the editorial boards of: Endocrine Reviews, Journal of Cardiovascular Diseases of South Africa, The Lancet Diabetes & Endocrinology and Diabetes research and Clinical Practice.
Luca Persani – has received support for the research from MERCK-SERONO and IBSA.
Philip Levy – Dr Levy has received financial aid as a speaker for Astra-Zenica, Boehringer-Ingelheim, Janssen and Novo-Nordisk.
Salvatore Minisola – Prof. Minisola served as speaker for Abiogen, Amgen, Bruno Farmaceutici, Diasorin, Eli Lilly, Italfarmaco, Fujii, Merck Sharp & Dohme, Takeda. He served in advisory board of Amgen, Eli Lilly and Merck Sharp & Dohme and received paid consultancy from Bruno Farmaceutici.He received research grants from Abiogen, Amgen, Bruno Farmaceutici, Eli Lilly, Merck Sharp & Dohme.
Andrea Vania – Prof. Vania has been paid for a series of consultancy and speeches given to, or on behalf of, Aboca S.p.A., Italy, a company producing a medical device (Libramed) useful for the treatment of insulin-resistance.
Shahrad Taheri – Prof. Taheri has served on the advisory board for Novo Nordisk.
Renata Belfort De Aguiar - Research grants paid to Yale University from Glaxo SmithKline, Doris Duke Foundation and US National Institute of Diabetes, Digestive and Kidney Disease (NIDDK).
John Carmichael
Personal (Compensated): Pfizer, Advisory Board (November 2016); Novartis, ad hoc Advisor (November 2016); Chiasma, Advisory Board (December 2015); Ionis Pharmaceuticals, Scientific Advisory Board (March 2016).
Unpaid positions: Pituitary, Editorial Board; Endocrine, Diabetes, Metabolism Case Reports, Senior Editor; F1000 – Faculty member, Neuroendocrine and pituitary section; Manuscript Reviewer, Journal of Neuro-Oncology; Manuscript Reviewer, Endocrine; Manuscript Reviewer, International Journal of Endocrinology; Manuscript Reviewer, Endocrine Practice; Manuscript Reviewer, PLoS One; Manuscript Reviewer, GH and IGF-I Research; Manuscript Reviewer, Pituitary.
Research: Novo Nordisk, Principal Investigator; Chiasma, Principal Investigator; Novartis, Principal Investigator; Pfizer, Principal Investigator; Strongbridge Biopharma, Principal investigator.
The following editors reported no competing interests:
  • Marco Bonomi
  • Isabelle Bourdeau
  • Vivien Coates
  • Magnus R. Dias da Silva
  • Larry Distiller
  • Maralyn Druce
  • Jerry Greenfield
  • Eystein Husebye
  • Paul Kaplowitz
  • Claudio Kater
  • Antonio La Marca
  • Gesthimani Mintziori
  • Sarantis Livadas
  • Karel Pacak
  • Andrew Solomon
  • Constantine Stratakis
  • Guy Van Vliet
  • Toshio Matsumoto
  • Joane Rovet
  • Paul Kaplowitz
Bioscientifica staff and freelancers working on the journal reported no conflicts of interest. Article authors' declarations are stated in each journal article. Referees must disclose any competing interests before agreeing to review any submission. For more information please refer to our ethical guidelines.
This policy follows the recommendations of the International Committee of Medical Journals Editors (ICMJE) and the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).